RSS

Desperately needed: Your recipes

20 Nov

Ok, I know this request sounds strange coming from a man blog, but I’m in desperate need of some recipes, and I’m specifically reaching out to my outdoor friends.  Here’s the deal:

For my newspaper column next week, I’m cooking up a Thanksgiving feast– outdoors style.  Yep, no microwaves or indoor stoves.  This will be a feast fit for the true outdoorsman.

Problem is, I’m having a hard time coming up with thanksgiving recipes for the Dutch oven, foil, or over the fire.  I realize there may not be a lot of this type of recipe out there, but I’m hoping somebody’s got an idea or two for adapting regular recipes for the outdoors.  If you do, feel free to leave a comment or drop me a note via the About page.  If I end up using the recipe, I’ll credit you in the article.

Thanks!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2009 in Holiday Related

 

2 responses to “Desperately needed: Your recipes

  1. Blessed

    November 21, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Hey Clint! Good luck with the article – I hope you repost it here.

    My sweet potato casserole recipe should work in a dutch oven http://crazydogslife.blogspot.com/2008/10/recipe-wednesday-sweet-potato-casserole.html

    Use a foil pan that will fit inside the dutch oven and put the casserole in that (you’ll probably need to cut the recipe in half) and then put the pan in the dutch oven to bake. Make sure you put some coals on top of the lid of the dutch oven too.

    Another tip for baking casseroles or cakes or cobblers in a dutch oven is to use a trivet in the bottom of the oven and then put whatever you are baking in a stonewear dish that you set on the trivet – it makes it more like a traditional oven and you don’t have to worry as much about the bottom of the dish burning. However… it does take awhile to cook things this way. I have a few cookbooks specifically for the type of thing you are doing – if you are still deserate shoot me an email and I’ll give you the titles so that you can look them up at the library. Also feel free to ask any other question you might have – I’ve played with this stuff a bit.

    – Jenn

     
    • bonnevillemariner

      November 21, 2009 at 7:57 pm

      Jenn,

      Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll definitely try it out. So far I’ve got recipes for Dutch oven turkey, juniper berry stuffing, and yours. I may have to email you tomorrow if I hit any brick walls. Thanks again.

       

Leave a Reply

 
