RSS

Terror in the Trees: A yarn from one of my favorite writers

22 Oct

As we got into the car, I glanced back at the diner. Kath was sitting at the table with the guys in robes. Was it my imagination, or were they talking to her? And was she nodding? And were all of them smiling, looking out the window, straight into our car, as we pulled into the night? Would you believe me if I said it was the first time in my life people smiling made my fingertips icy?

Today’s Halloweentime offering comes from one of my favorite writers, Steve Friedman.  This piece, billed as “the scariest ghost story ever told,” appeared in the October, 2005 edition of Backpacker Magazine.  Awesomely, they’ve still got it up at the website.  You can read it there, but I’d recommend printing this baby out and reading it somewhere dimly lit and slightly chilly.

The Scariest Ghost Story Ever Told: TERROR IN THE TREES by Steve Friedman

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 22, 2009 in Holiday Related

 

One response to “Terror in the Trees: A yarn from one of my favorite writers

  1. Aoirselvar

    October 22, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    I’ll have to look that one up, interesting.

     

Leave a Reply

 
