RSS

County sledding hotspots cater to kids’ need for speed

19 Jan

si850077-1

Weston Thomsen catches 3 good feet of air on the hill behind East Elementary in Tooele (photo by Clint Thomsen)

Dad, I think I want to try this by myself.”

Those words from my 5-year-old son didn’t surprise me. After all, this is the kid who, at age 3, dashed fearlessly into a rushing river when he thought I was drowning — who at the same age boldly declared his autonomy with the phrase “I can took care of my selp.”

It’s not that I minded letting Weston sled down the snowy hill behind East Elementary alone. Heck, it would mean less of a chance that I’d break my tailbone that afternoon. It’s just that he had always asked me to ride with him, and this slight change in the status quo was another bittersweet reminder that my little boy is growing up fast.

Click here to read the full story.

 

3 responses to “County sledding hotspots cater to kids’ need for speed

  1. Kristine Shreve

    January 19, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    I guess I should go sledding. It looks like fun and it would certainly be a good use of the tons of snow we have here. We could build some massive sledding hills.

     
  2. Blessed

    January 20, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Every since I spent the last 8 weeks of winter on crutches due to a sledding accident I have a hard time getting out there and sledding – but every time I do I have a blast!

    Great story and it looks like your boy had an awesome time!

     
  3. The Hunter's Wife

    January 20, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Looks like a good time. I haven’t been sledding in forever. We do have the snow for it right now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
