RSS

Salt flats make biggest moon in 15 years even brighter

19 Dec

A full moon rises over the Bonneville Salt Flats.  Last Friday's full moon was the largest and brightest since 1993 (crappy photo by Clint Thomsen)

A full moon rises over the Bonneville Salt Flats. Last Friday's full moon was the largest and brightest since 1993 (crappy photo by Clint Thomsen)

I’ve loved outer space ever since I saw my first “Star Wars” movie on a suitcase-sized rental VCR. Growing up, I had the glow-in-the-dark star stickers on my bedroom ceiling and a replica of the Starship Enterprise on my dresser.   On summer nights I’d sleep out on our trampoline and stare at the moon, hoping to somehow spot the U.S. flag our astronauts planted on its surface.

I’ve seen full moons that I could have sworn were bigger than others. This may be an illusion triggered when low-hanging moons are viewed against scalable visual cues in the foreground and on the horizon. High moons then, without those visual cues, should always be the same size, right? Actually, no. All mind tricks aside, it turns out that full moons do indeed differ in size.

Click here to read the full story.

 

2 responses to “Salt flats make biggest moon in 15 years even brighter

  1. Kristine Shreve

    December 22, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    I missed the moon. It was snowing here. Of course, it’s always snowing here lately.

    It looks like it was beautiful.

     
  2. Blessed

    January 8, 2009 at 2:50 am

    I love the photo – it looks like it was a beautiful night!

     

Leave a Reply

 
