RSS

Deer skinning proves a rite of passage for non-hunter too

29 Aug

I’ve only ever killed one deer — a large doe who jumped out in front of my car one night along the Mirror Lake Highway. It may seem odd, given the many hunters among my friends and family, that I’ve never participated in the sport before. To be clear, I have nothing against hunting. I enjoy flipping through the hunting pages of the Cabela’s catalog as much as the next guy — though I do tend to skip the men’s camo underwear section. I’m a satisfied subscriber to Field & Stream, and as my hunter friends can attest, I’m first in line to taste-test their home-dried deer jerky.

The above is an excerpt of this week’s Transcript Bulletin article.  Click over to the TTB to read the full story.

Big thanks to the many hunters from the Outdoor Bloggers Summit who offered insight for this article.  There is some humor in this article, but hopefully I’ve also done justice to some important principles.  Guys and gals, I appreciate it.

I’m serious about the underwear section of the Cabelas catalog, though.  Seriously, what guy stands there in his rich guy cabin, coffee mug in hand and in mid conversation with somebody, in his underwear?  I’m sorry, but that section ain’t right.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2008 in Tooele Transcript Bulletin

 

4 responses to “Deer skinning proves a rite of passage for non-hunter too

  1. Kristine Shreve

    August 29, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Well done. I have to agree though, the men’s underwear section in a lot of catalogs is odd. Ladies section too.

     
  2. Tom Sorenson

    September 3, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    HA! That about the underwear section just made me laugh hard! I’ve wondered that myself – who does that, really? Certainly not this hombre! I’m heading over to read your article as I type this – you hooked me with that excerpt!

     
  3. Matt

    September 4, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Good article; and even better observation about the underwear section of the Cabela’s catalog!

     

Leave a Reply

 
