RSS

Respecting nature maybe best route to managing dangers

08 Aug

Given the time and season, I was quite possibly the only human being in the upper portion of the canyon. As I jogged past Cottonwood campground, a primal instinct stopped me dead in my tracks.  Though I saw nothing, an inexplicable, extrasensory feeling told me I was being watched.  That thunderstorm and those eyes watching me conveyed a powerful message — one that all outdoorspeople need to hear from time to time:

“Tread carefully. You are no match for nature.”

The above is an excerpt from this week’s Tooele Transcript Bulletin article.  Click on over to read the full story.

 

One response to “Respecting nature maybe best route to managing dangers

  1. Kristine Shreve

    August 8, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    You make a good point. We tend to think that nature has become subservient to man, but that isn’t the case. As places like New Orleans show, when nature decides to release it’s fury, humans are still pretty helpless.

     

Leave a Reply

 
