RSS

Getting to know the Oquirrhs — one ridge at a time

27 Jun

View of Tooele from an unnamed (as far as I know) Oquirrh canyon
(photo by Clint Thomsen)

I tend to lead many of my columns with a single, hopefully interesting moment, then tell the story leading up to that point in “flashback” mode. I don’t think I’ll do that this week, since a grueling 600-foot descent straight down the face of a mountain may not be the best way to introduce this week’s subject. Nor will I begin by discussing the wisdom of mountain climbing with a pinched sciatic nerve.

In fact, I’ll rewind past the near-vertical rubble fields, past the views from the mountainside and the cheatgrass stickers and the moment I stopped making column-relevant observations. I’ll go past all that and focus exclusively on not sliding to my bloody demise.

The above is an excerpt. Click over to the TTB to read the full story.

Trevis Larsen holds a striped whip snake by the tail and is getting a little nervous.
(photo by Clint Thomsen)
 

4 responses to “Getting to know the Oquirrhs — one ridge at a time

  1. kristine shreve

    June 27, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    I wouldn’t hold a snake if you paid me a million dollars. I just don’t like them. The hike sounds fun though, if a bit challenging.

     
  2. Blessed

    June 27, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    Not sliding to your bloody demise is a good thing!

    I’m with Kristine – I wouldn’t hold a snake for a million dollars and the hike does sound like an enjoyable challenge.

    I emailed you the other day – you have been chosen to be spotlighted on the OBS blog, if you didn’t get my email will you pop over to my blog and let me know… Thanks!

     
  3. kristine

    July 29, 2008 at 12:08 am

    I wouldn’t hold a snake if you paid me a million dollars. I just don’t like them. The hike sounds fun though, if a bit challenging.

     
  4. kristine

    July 29, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Not sliding to your bloody demise is a good thing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
