RSS

Weekly Run-Down: Site Updates and Cruel April Fools Jokes

01 Apr

Goodbye Blogger, Hello WordPress!

It was a really tough decision—ok, no, it wasn’t—but I’m officially abandoning Blogger and hopping over to WordPress. Blogger is the only Google product that disappoints me. It works ok for regular blogspot.com blogs, but FTP blogs- not so much. It’s clunky, temperamental, and rigid. WordPress isn’t perfect, but it’s stable and versatile. Plus it’s got better widgets, the ability to create multiple pages, and a wider variety of templates. Since mine is an FTP blog (it resides on my own domain rather than a blogspot subdomain), publishing with Blogger is delay-prone, error-ridden pain in the butt. WordPress will allow me to post, edit, and customize things much easier.

I’ll be migrating the site over for the next day or so, and everything should be working properly by the end of the week. The URL will remain the same (www.bonnevillemariner.com), but the format will be different. For those of you who subscribe to my RSS feed, the feed URL will obviously change. Check back by Friday and you can re-subscribe to the new feed. You may see a handful of older posts come through on the feed, but that’s just me doing some housekeeping.

UPDATE: I have migrated the website to WordPress and imported all of the posts. I’ll have to go back through some of them to correct some minor formatting issues. Right now I have my domain forwarding to the WordPress.com subdomain, in case you’re wondering why the Web address redirects when you visit.

Vending Machine Freakiness

Could this be some weird what-comes-around-goes-around lesson, or are the vending machines at work just having some April Fools Day fun at my expense?

So yesterday I go into the break room to get a granola bar from the vending machine. I drop in 75 cents (an absolute rip-off, I know. But what I am I going to do when I don’t have time to grab breakfast before I leave?). The machine steals my money and I walk away hungry and mad. I walk in later that afternoon to buy a Diet Pepsi, which, at $1.25 is even more of a rip-off. I insert 4 quarters and realize I don’t have the 5th. So I hit the coin return button. Nothing.

All I’ve got is a $5 bill, so I walk over to the food machine that robbed me earlier because it accepts $5 bills. If I buy something there, I’ll get $4.25 back in quarters. Then I can add my final quarter to the Pepsi machine and get my Diet Pepsi. I insert my $5 and buy the only thing in there that’s somewhat healthy- the granola bar I was robbed of earlier and that I’ve been craving all day. Not only do I get my granola bar, but the machine graciously drops an extra one, then returns my $4.25.

I drop the final quarter in the Pepsi machine and press the Diet Pepsi button. It drops not one, but two regular Pepsi’s, which took me about 10 minutes to wiggle from the slot. At this point I figure that even though it gave me the wrong bottles, I didn’t see any “Buy One, Get One Free” signs anywhere, so I owe the Pepsi machine $1.25. I figured I’d call the 800 number the next day and inform them that their Pepsi machine was giving away free pop.

That was yesterday. I return today to buy an actual Diet Pepsi (expecting perhaps a Dr. Pepper) and this time, no Pepsi of any variety. I push the coin return. Nothing. Looks like we’re even.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2008 in Site Updates, Weekly Run-Down

 

4 responses to “Weekly Run-Down: Site Updates and Cruel April Fools Jokes

  1. bonnevillemariner

    April 2, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    This is just a comment to activate (for lack of a better word) my comments rss.

     
  2. Jason A. Hendricks

    April 15, 2008 at 4:44 am

    That was funny–I had my own revenge a few weeks back on a Pepsi machine..kind of the same deal. Would put money in…and nothing, or add a dollar, get a Dew, and it would keep my $.50. Last week went back to the same dumb machine, put in $.50, and got FIVE of them in return. I figured that evened me up as well. I was actually worried, I thought I hit the jack-pot for a bit, but then thought that what if the whole machine emptied?

     
  3. Jason A. Hendricks

    April 15, 2008 at 4:45 am

    By the way, I am a firm believer in WordPress.

     
  4. bonnevillemariner

    April 15, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    That’s funny. I wish I knew how those machines worked. The whole situation was a bit awkward for me because the two pepsis had fallen parallel into the slot and I had to really work to get them out. I don’t even drink regular pepsi, but I’m not going to just leave them there. At least one of them was rightfully mine! The problem was I felt like a vending machine thief trying to wiggle them out of there with people walking by.

    Actually, Jason, your blog was what inspired me to move to WordPress. I’m still having a few problems with getting it to do paragraph breaks, but on the whole I’m loving it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
