RSS

WEEKLY RUN-DOWN

26 Nov

New Feature- the Run-Down

I’ve received several comments from friends and readers about the format of this website. My main goal with this site is to present formal, hopefully professional articles. Yes, it’s a blog format written on a Blogger template, but I kind of cringe when people call it a blog. Because I’m a perfectionist, I don’t really like to post random musings and half thoughts. Lately I’ve been torn between the occasional, full article format and a more frequently updated blog-type format. For now I’ve decided to compromise by adding a weekly update in order to get stuff in when I don’t have time to write a full article.

Tooele Transcript Bulletin

Last week’s article had to be held for space reasons (dang that Black Friday) but it will run in this Thursday’s paper. I will post the teaser as soon as it publishes. The article is more of a humor piece about the crazy foods we eat in the outdoors.

Best. Barbecue. Ever.

On the subject of food, I believe I’ve found the best barbecue known to mankind. I spent last week in northeast Texas and was tipped off to a little place called Clark’s Outpost Barbecue in the blink-and-you-miss-it town of Tioga. It lies just off the highway at the end of a cool old-timey downtown and across from a horse insurance building. I had smoked brisket and homemade smoked sausage. Meadow had the smoked turkey.

This meat will make you cry. And the sides- oh the sides. Deep-fried corn on the cob, coleslaw, jalapeño black-eyed peas, and collard greens to die for. You think you wouldn’t like collard greens? Believe me, you’d eat these and beg for more. Why, oh why do we not have more good barbecue places in Utah?

Texas Tales

On a searing August day a few years ago in Middle-of-Nowhere, Texas, I walked up to a farmer cutting hay and asked if I could explore his land. Much of his 300 acre spread is covered by dense forest and near impenetrable thickets that cover a historic segment of Choctaw Creek. The man gave me permission, but said I’d be wiser to come back sometime in the winter when the critters hibernate and the woods are easier to walk through. I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt, and if I were to surprise a cottonmouth, nobody would be able to find my dead body for days.

Last week I returned to that same farm and met the same farmer, who shuttled me through the woods in his Kawasaki Mule to an old abandoned railroad bridge and a few other beautiful and interesting places. Look for more on this in a series of Texas-related articles I hope to post in January.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 26, 2007 in Weekly Run-Down

 

Leave a Reply

 
