RSS

Hiatus

04 Jan

I’m going on hiatus.  Not from the blog (though I can see how the lack of regular postings here lately might lead one to that conclusion).

If you’re a regular reader, you may have noticed that It’s been quite some time since I re-posted any content from my newspaper column.  A few people have asked why, and I suppose a brief explanation is in order.

For just over three years I’ve written a (mostly) weekly outdoors column for my local newspaper, the Tooele Transcript Bulletin.  This has been an exhausting, but unbelievably rewarding undertaking.  It’s become a passion, and I think I’ve published some  insightful and worthwhile pieces through it’s course.

So it was with mixed emotion that I made the decision last fall to put the column on indefinite hiatus.

There are several reasons for this, one of which is a reassessment of sorts.  I found my literary muse a little late in the career game.  So far it’s been strictly a side gig, limited to ever-decreasing amounts of spare time.  But the column has given me a foot in the door, and I need to pause in order to explore opportunities to grow and expand.  Can a side career be made in campfire philosophy?  I don’t know, but I need to find out.

In that vein, I’ve begun one new venture– a history-related project with a focus on Old West ghost towns– and am laying the groundwork for another, which will take a hybrid/New Media approach to  Utah’s outdoors.

I’ll explain both of these projects in more detail as time goes on, and of course keep you updated on the column’s status.  In the meantime, I’ll continue to write regular features in the newspaper’s Hometown section, and  I’ve got a few more Outdoor Adventure articles to re-post here, including a 2010 retrospective from last week.

 

2 responses to “Hiatus

  1. Jason A. Hendricks

    January 5, 2011 at 6:17 am

    Just as I get back up and going, you start talking of a hiatus. Haha. Just kidding. It sounds like you have some great projects in the works, and I look forward to following along. I have added a link to this site from my new project, Extreme Adventure News. You can find it under ‘Adventure Links’.

    Good luck with your future projects.

     
    • bonnevillemariner

      January 6, 2011 at 12:17 am

      Good to hear from you, Jason! It’s been a while. The new website looks awesome. Thanks for the link, too! I was only able to take a quick peek, but I can’t wait to dig into the content there.

      Yeah, I really hope my second project gets off the ground well. I think it’s a great idea that a lot of people will find valuable. The question is will it be sustainable. We’ll see!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

