RSS

Needed: Halloween writing ideas

12 Oct

Dear reader, I need to pick your brain.

This is more a question for local readers of my newspaper column (who, according to analytics, make up roughly a third of visitors here), but I invite anybody’s input.

For the past couple years I’ve dedicated my last column of October to a Halloween-ish topic.  I plan to do the same this year, but I need a good idea.  There are some parameters– It needs to be outdoor-related and unique to Tooele County, Utah.  But don’t let those restrictions discourage you from chyming in with general thoughts.

What kind of spooky story would you like to read?  Do you prefer tongue-in-cheek scary or serious scary?  Straight documentary type investigations or “neurotic first-person” stories?

For an idea of what I’ve done in the past, check out my previous Halloween columns:

‘There’s a body in there!’ (2008)
Ghosts in the desert? Past and paranormal meet in Old River Bed (2009)

So what tickles your Halloween fancy?  Feel free to comment here, Twitter, or send me an email.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2010 in Holiday Related

 

2 responses to “Needed: Halloween writing ideas

  1. Michelle Powell

    October 12, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Tooele County has a TON of really cool ghost towns and graveyards. Have you ever been to Ophir? What about the Mercur Cemetery? SUPER creepy and AWESOME!

    Whatever you DO choose to write about, I know it will be great! LOVE reading your posts! :)

     
    • bonnevillemariner

      October 12, 2010 at 7:01 pm

      Thanks, Michelle! I have been to Ophir, and one person suggested I do a story on the mines over there. Definitely a good suggestion.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

