RSS

Dang winter. Dang it to heck.

21 Jan

Okay, so I’ve come to terms with winter in recent years– to a degree.  I’ve got a lighter column schedule, I don’t need to mow the lawn, not a lot going on to stress out about.   Kinda nice.

But I’ll only fully embrace this season when it stops sending my children to the hospital.

My decrease in postings here lately is partly due to the lighter column schedule, but a lot of it has to do with the fact that since about Christmas, we’ve spent a good deal of time at medical facilities.  If you have small children, you know what I’m talking about.  When the kids get sick, the earth stops spinning.

The big one was Deedle’s 3 day hospital stay the week before last.  Now, Deedle’s a big boy, but he was no match for human metapneumovirus (HMPV), a cousin of RSV, which I’m sure he contracted from toys in a pediatric waiting room somewhere.

I say ‘somewhere’ because we’ve been in a lot of pediatric waiting rooms lately.  Here’s the run-down for our kids since about Christmas (diseases and number of family members affected):

Croop: 1
HMPV: 1
Strep Throat: 1
Bronchial infections: 1
Acute asthma: 1
Ear infections: 2
Unidentified, puke-your-guts-out stomach virus: 5

Mind you, each of these cases (save 4 instances of the the puke-your-guts-out stomach virus) necessitated its own doctor visit, co-pay, and prescription.

But I’m looking at the bright side– I’m happy to report that so far our family is completely swine flu free!  We’ll see what next week brings.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2010 in Random Musings

 

2 responses to “Dang winter. Dang it to heck.

  1. Blessed

    January 22, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I feel your pain Clint! So far (crossing fingers) we’ve avoided the hospital – but just barely. Our fight with viral bronchitis has cost us just over $100 already for prescriptions and doctors visits – glad we have insurance! I’d hate to see that bill without it.

    Hope you all get to feeling better soon.

    -Jenn

     
    • bonnevillemariner

      January 25, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      No new illnesses this week (knock on wood). I hope the same for your family– I read about your viral adventures last week too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

