RSS

Weekly Run-Down: Zee Avi, Iosepa, and Selling Out

28 May

A Note on the new Zee Avi album
I know I promised a review, but these last few weeks couldn’t have been more hectic for me.  I still plan on writing one, but it defininitely won’t be until next week.  Suffice it to say that the new album is excellent.  Whoever called the shots on instrumentation is a genius.  Avi’s voice is sweet and distinct.  Favorite track so far– ‘Just You and Me.’

Iosepa or bust
My family and I attended the annual Iosepa festival last Saturday.  If you’re new to this blog, read more about this Hawaiian ghost town here.  Below are some pics from this year’s festival:

SI851071

SI851065

SI851060

SI851079

One of this town’s distinguishing characteristics was its pressurized irrigation system, which exploited 5 mountain streams by converging them into cement and wooden aqueducts.  Last year, archaeologist Benjamin Pykles was excavating one of the old lots, he showed me some BLM archaeological papers that mapped out remnants of that aqueduct system.  This year, I attempted to locate one of the ruins but turned back when I decided my family vehicle’s axles and tires were more important than a moment of archaeological elation.  Read all about it in this week’s Transcript Bulletin column, which I’ll post here this weekend.

Selling Out
Yeah, so I haven’t blogged much the last few days, nor have I had much time to read all of your blogs and leave comments.  That’s because the missus and I are frantically preparing to sell our house.

No, I didn’t lose any of my jobs.  It’s just that we looked at the number of children we have vs. the number of bedrooms and square feet in our little starter home and decided it might be wise to take advantage of the buyer’s market.

It was split-second decision, and as heart attack inducing as that is for me, most of our better decisions have happened that way (getting married to each other, having kids, and buying our current house all come to mind).

The down side is that gave us a week to re-landscape our yard, redo our bathroom floor, and try to make the place look like 5 kids really don’t live there.  All amidst family reunions, weddings, school activities, and work.

Of course if we don’t sell our house, we won’t buy the one we’ve made an offer on, which fortunately is just up the street.  Wish us luck.

 

3 responses to “Weekly Run-Down: Zee Avi, Iosepa, and Selling Out

  1. Curt Hall

    May 29, 2009 at 2:13 am

    Nice, I’ve wanted to go to the celebration, but it just hasn’t worked out. I do have a big red Jeep that has a little better axles than a minivan next time you wanna play Indiana Jones.

     
  2. Kristine Shreve

    May 29, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Good luck with the new house. I bought my first house last year, and it was rather a quick decision too. Best decision I ever made, by the way.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that things go smoothly with the sale and the move.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

