RSS

Weekly Run-Down: Googlers, U2, and Facebook

27 Jan

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Weekly Run-Down, but I want to get back into the habit. Basically it’s a bullet point summary of interesting things I’ve read, quick updates on topics I cover, and completely random thoughts that I’d like to share with y’all.  I’m going to try to post the Run-Down on Tuesdays, so we’ll see how it goes.

Jody’s Goofy Googlers
Anybody who uses analytics tools to track traffic on their websites at least periodically checks the list of search terms visitors used to get there. I’ll get an amusing one every once in a while, but most of mine are pretty bland, like “geodes,” “ore cars,” or “outhouse pictures.”

In part due to her blog’s title, Jody over at The Hunter’s Wife gets some funny ones. She periodically posts a list of the most amusing googles with as a little feature she likes to call “Goofy Googlers.” Check her latest batch if you’d like a nice chuckle.

Get On Your Boots!
Prompted by a 30-second leak of their new single, U2 decided to release “Get On Your Boots” digitally last week, almost a month ahead of schedule. The album, No Line on the Horizon, is due out in the U.S. on March 3. I can’t wait.

My thoughts on “Boots”? Eh, so-so. If you’re familiar with their stuff, it’s sort of ‘Atomic Bomb’ meets ‘Pop’, with a hint of Beatles and Queen.

See, U2 is a charter member of my personal musical trinity (the others being Jack Johnson and Alison Krauss), so I always have unrealistically high expectations for their releases. I was initially disappointed with their last album because it didn’t match the dream album I had created in my mind. It grew on me though, and I suppose this new single will grow on me too. At least it gives me a taste of what’s coming so that I can tailor my expectations.

You can check out Rolling Stone’s track-by-track breakdown of the upcoming album here.

Facebook: One Month In
Yeah, so I’m on Facebook now. I was reluctant to sign up, and I succumbed only because I wanted to keep tabs on my little sisters. I swore social networks were only for teenage girls and dirty old men (any bets that line will spice up my search terms report?).

So it turns out everybody really is on Facebook. High school pals, college buddies, relatives, old LDS mission companions, former girlfriends– everybody.

This subject deserves its own post because I’ve made some interesting observations in the month I’ve been on Facebook. I’m happy to report, though, that the sisters are smart, and they aren’t being stalked or exploited in any way.

And the first guy who tries will be very sorry he did. I’m just sayin’.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2009 in Music, Weekly Run-Down

 

3 responses to “Weekly Run-Down: Googlers, U2, and Facebook

  1. Kristine Shreve

    January 27, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Facebook as been a interesting experience. I signed up mostly to try and connect with professional contacts, and I’ve mostly been contacted by people with whom I went to high school. It’s odd.

     
  2. gary

    January 28, 2009 at 1:31 am

    facebook?? I get the feeling techno has passed me by. I’m still trying to figure out how to load pictures on our site.

     
  3. The Hunter's Wife

    January 28, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    I could never post some that I get. Some of these people need counseling.

    As for facebook, I’ve been using it more and more. Lots of high school friends, family and other bloggers.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

